A New Year

Posted: January 2, 2008 in About Mary

Just a quick note as the New Year is now 32 hours old. We saw the New Year arrive in Lawrenceville, toasted with hot chocolate and coffee. While it might be easy to say 2007 was not kind to us, it is more truthful to say that we have been blessed by the experience. I must take one more opportunity to thank all of you and your many friends, who I have not meet, for your prayers and support.

2008 begins with amazing healing, as Mary regains her strength and a full range of motion. There is still a ways to go but progress has been steady. In the next week we will visit with the surgeon and the oncologist, to assess where we are and what our next steps will be. For the moment we are hopeful that radiation has been postponed if not eliminated. In the mean time she is still on restrictions and dependent on the rest of us for transportation. Around the house she can  do most anything that does not require lifting or reaching too high.

For my part I can report that I am doing well. End of the year projects have stacked up and will keep me busy for a while. On the health side I am good. My recent quarterly check up shows my diabetes remains under control, with an HA1c of 5.5. I mention this because a few of our nurse friends like to check up on me. For those who don’t know what that means; (many of us don’t) it says that my blood sugar is very well controlled.

So I can truthfully say that we are looking forward to 2008. With prayer and some luck we may get to travel a little this year leaving work and medicine behind us for a short time anyway. We pray that 2007 was good for all of you and that 2008 may see you blessed in many ways.

Comments
  1. Judy Adcock says:

    That A1C sounds great. David’s runs about like that, too. Yes, I had never heard of that number before, but now we know it well and we get a little nervous every time he has the test, but so far, so good.

Leave a comment